Good to know…

p1180001

On Driesh on Sunday I met a man out walking with his daughter. I’d seen the two figures – one tall and one much smaller, a little ahead of me as we all approached the top. I noticed them stopping occasionally, choosing which way seemed best between or through the remaining patches of snow. 

At the cairn we got talking and I learned that she was eight and she told me she was pleased that she had now ’done six Munros’. This was especially good because it meant she was ahead of her little sister who had – so far – only done four. Her father explained that the little sister, not with them today, was two years younger.

‘Carrot and stick,’ he joked ‘we have to go to McDonalds later!’  At the top of a hill, I thought, a hot burger and chips does sound like a pretty superior kind of carrot.

‘And did you find this one easy?’ I asked the girl.

‘No,’ she laughed, ’it was hard!’

‘Well then,’ I said, ’you must be a person who is able to do difficult things. That’s a good thing to know…’

Quiet smiles all round.

p1180004

About stevedsmart

Steve Smart is an information designer, poet and artist. View all posts by stevedsmart

Comments are disabled.

