Déjà vu

This piece (words, sound, image) was made in response to a New Scientist article by Jessica Hamselou about studies by researchers at the University of St Andrews, and the University of Western Ontario into the phenomenon of déjá vu.

You read more about the science in Jessica’s fascinating article online at New Scientist.

My reading and the poem are below, click on the wee tiny thumbnail for a larger version of the image.

Déjà vu

deja vuDo you know I can’t recall
the last time I had déjà vu.
That funny feeling
you’ve danced these steps before,
you know?
You’ve danced these steps …

Now it seems they reckon it’s not so much
memory’s double-take on travel’s trouble,
more like your head’s double check on
what you think you know, against what you do.

Do you know I’m not sure
when I last I felt déjà vu.
That funny feeling
I’ve walked these paths before,
you know?
I’ve walked these paths …

Apparently it’s common spring cleaning
in the lively ransack of a youthful mind,
while my cluttered old rattle-bag noggin,
cries out for trips of the charity shop kind.

Do you know I can’t quite tell
the last thing that gave me déjà vu.
That funny feeling
we’ve held each other so before,
you know?
We’ve held each other so …

Perhaps it’s not so weird a wonderment,
to sense you’ve tripped this turn afore,
when the miles clocked up, corner a pretty good steer,
to better-than chance you’re here once more.

Do you know I can’t recall
the last time I had déjà vu.
That funny feeling
you’ve danced these steps before,
you know?
You’ve danced these steps …

You’ve danced these steps …

You’ve danced these steps
before.

.

.

.

About stevedsmart

Steve Smart is an information designer, poet and artist. View all posts by stevedsmart

Comments are disabled.

