Desire Lines – getting there somehow!

.
desire-lines-web-16Back in May I wrote about how I’d been trying to think of a way to combine a small collection of poems and images in a printed form other than a book.  As I have a longstanding love of maps, and as the pieces I’ve been making are in a sense fragments of a kind of journey, the result was the chart project I’ve called “Desire Lines”.
.
I’m terrible for making my mind up – and I enjoy both working in visual media and writing. Consequently both poetry and photographs (or digital montages) are integral to the work I’ve been sharing on this blog.
.
desire-lines-web-1 (1)Placing words and images together can risk diluting the impact of both – I hope this hasn’t been the case here. Together the images and the poems collected in “Desire Lines” represent a series of observations made on my own random survey of the in-between, hence – an ‘interstitial chart’.
.
It’s taken a while to get the project to the next stage, but “Desire Lines” is now at the printers, proofed and ready to go … and will be coming shortly to an online store near you!
.
.

About stevedsmart

Steve Smart is an information designer, poet and artist. View all posts by stevedsmart

Comments are disabled.

