I am a tent.

Ptarmigan in the rain. Driesh, 8th May 2014

Ptarmigan in the rain.
Driesh, 8th May 2014

Rain on my hood.
I am well seated by Driesh’s trig.
Light rain, full waterproofs, dry.
A birthday donder.

Eyes shut there is only sound.
Staccato drops.

Light defies a hinted snooze, and
I drift to a gentle trance.
I am a tent.

Ten again.
Camped in a garden realm.
I await Marco Polo’s return,
Hooves thrashing the steppe,
The quiet creatures of the woods,
And the almost tangible possibility of magic.

Tented air aromatic with the astringent
Of newly printed ink,
An anticipated summer special,
Mingled with pattering scent of fresh rain.

Eyes closed,
I breathe slow and quiet,
and listen to time stopping.

I am a tent.

.

.

.

About stevedsmart

Steve Smart is an information designer, poet and artist. View all posts by stevedsmart

Comments are disabled.

